NYDA Web > News
National and Provincial Elections 2019
On 08 May 2019, South Africa will hold its sixth democratic national and provincial elections. The 2019 National Elections hold a special significance for South Africans as it marks the celebration of 25 Years of Freedom since the first democratic elections on 27 April 1994.
As the country celebrates its 25 Years of Freedom, citizens are encouraged to exercise their democratic right and vote. Each and every vote contributes to strengthening our democracy.
A vital part of any democracy is to guarantee that voting takes place in an atmosphere which is considered free and fair. Ensuring free and fair elections is the primary responsibility of the IEC. At the same time government has a major role to play in ensuring citizens can safely and securely cast their vote.
You are eligible to vote if you are:
  • A South African citizen and are registered to vote;
  • At least 18 years old; and
  • In possession of a green bar-coded ID book, smart ID card or temporary identity certificate.
Registered voters can SMS their ID number to 32810 to check their voting station.
The Department of Home Affairs will extend operational hours at frontline offices from the 6 to 8 May to assist eligible voters to collect identity documents or to apply for new Identity Documents or Temporary Identity Certificates.
Home Affairs frontline offices will be open from 16h00 to 19h00 on 6 and 7 May.  Home Affairs frontline offices will also provide public services on Election Day, from 07h00 until 21h00.
Voters can call 0800 6011 90 toll free for more information.